The town's landmark
Visit the exhibitions in the St.Martin's tower and enjoy the beautiful panorama of Bregenz and the upper town, Pfänder, the Swiss mountains, and of course, Lake Constance from the window Gallery.
The St. Martin's tower, a landmark of Bregenz, is a unique baroque building. But only at first glance. Originally it was a leftover from the time the city was founded in 1250, and was barely higher than the city wall. The storage building had a basement, ground, and first floor. Already in the first half of the 14th century the first floor was used as a small chapel that was separated by wooden walls. In 1362, Count Wilhelm III. von Montfort founded the St. Martins' chapel, which in the following years was extended to the entire floor and decorated with magnificent frescoes. In the late 15th century the profane ground floor was included in the chapel by tearing out the ceiling. Today the room is about twice as high, and the frescoes seem very high up.
In the years 1599 to 1601 the architect Benedetto Prato from Roveredo (Graubünden) enlarged the existing building at the behest of the city. The former storage space became the tower, with a big wooden dome.
The new St. Martins' tower was the watchtower of Bregenz. For centuries the watchmen warned the city, especially in case of a fire.
From April 1st until October 31st
1o:ooam - 5pm
Monday closing day.
Adults: € 3,5o
Students, trainees, pupils,
Pensioners and groups of 8 people and more, p.P. € 2,5o
Children (6 -15 years): € 1,oo